And Now: Top 10 Tipping Points

Ah yesssss, the persuasive power of top ten count downs.  I’m going to have do more of them I see.

This one is taken from this very useful article from the Hawaii Daily News, “10 Tipping Points Which Could Potentially Plunge The World Into A Horrific Economic Nightmare “, to which I say, “what, only ten?”  Anyway, you be the judge, here they are:

  1. Syria
  2. Iran
  3. Lybia
  4. More revolutions in the Middle East
  5. Fukishima
  6. Oil Prices
  7. Government Austerity
  8. The European Sovereign Debt Crisis
  9. The Dying US Dollar
  10. Drought

Naturally, I concur, broadly speaking with each and every, although I have tended to group them differently, all of the Islamic/Middle East mess as part of a larger lump of social unrest lump, for instance.  I might discount some of them a bit, such as Fukishima, while significant in its own way, is but one smallish wart on a much bigger frog. 

Still, this version works well enough for me and, I suppose, that is the author’s point.  The systemic fragility of the global economic system is such that even smallish bumps in the road could tip things over altogether and, sadly, I believe that’s about right.  More to the point, I’m not sure it can be avoided.

HT

Leave a Reply

