A Country Home “To-Do” List – June 2011

As I’ve joked before, we’re now in year eleven of our “Five Year Plan”.  Makes me a little teary-eyed when I think about how “Planners” must feel about the state of their reality.  Anyway, for those who might find it interesting, perhaps encouraging, here’s the ongoing “to-do” list that we are wrestling with at the moment:

  • Plant new fruit trees – done.
  • Seed and fertilize pasture – done.
  • Clean up raspberry beds – done.
  • Put in garden – done.
  • Prepare new strawberry beds – begun.
  • Hook up garden water system – begun.
  • Service all small machinery – done.
  • Repair chainsaw and wheeled string trimmer – mostly done…
  • Build greenhouse – begun.
  • Build at least one barn door.
  • Build two garden/yard gates.
  • Rebuild back porch.
  • Repair dog-house roof.
  • Repair burst water lines in shop.
  • Finish barn siding.
  • Patch barn roof.
  • Load-up the new woodshed.
  • Spread chips/mulch in landscaping beds.
  • Move and/or turn manure pile.
  • Re-roof garden and storage sheds.
  • Prepare canning storage area in pantry.
  • Watch carport sink a bit further into the ground.
  • Catch up enough to get back to work on the kitchen and bath remodel by fall.

Old Chinese proverb:  “Man who finish house die.”

HT

6 responses to “A Country Home “To-Do” List – June 2011

  1. But what I really want is one of these. http://www.wimp.com/woodcuttingattachment/

  2. Harry: Do you have the Fiskar video link? (I’ll search too.) What else is on your “to do” list this spring/summer?

    HT

  3. Speaking of chainsaw repair, I successfully drilled out the spark plug hole in my stihl and inserted a helicoil to repair the stripped threads. I was fearful that I would turn the saw into a poorly designed paper weight, so I’m quite pleased that it worked out.

    Also I just bought a Fiskar splitting axe, based on a youtube video I watched. The three pound head does everything my old eight pound maul used to do. And the maul is much more convenient as a paper weight than the chainsaw would have been.

Leave a Reply

