Electricity: Use in Moderation?

We had a windstorm a few days ago and the power went out.  We lit candles, started a fire and warmed apple cider on the woodstove.  Sounds nice, doesn’t it?  It was so nice, in fact, that we were disappointed when the power came back on a few hours later.  The special atmosphere in our house was unceremoniously interrupted by noisy beeps, sounds of reboots and flashing lights.  Oh yay.  The power is back and so is all the junk and noise that comes with it. 

I use electricity all the time.  I am using it right now.  It’s a handy thing and makes a lot of tasks easy and efficient.  But I’m not sure it makes me happier.  I went outside during the windstorm to get some firewood.  The night was darker and quieter than usual and it was because the street lamps and floodlights were out.  I could see the neighbors’ windows glowing – but I could tell that they were glowing from candlelight.  Write me off as sentimental and romantic, but, with the power off, I was more at peace.

Now it’s one thing to enjoy the experience of no electricity for a few hours.  Would I start to miss it after a few days?  What about a few weeks?  Maybe electricity is like alcohol.  It’s very handy, but should be used in moderation, or it begins to use you.  We don’t use it in moderation.  We are addicted.  Most of us can’t even think of not having it.  It’s just a part of life.  Perhaps if we didn’t need electricity, we could enjoy it.

I’m curious now.  We really don’t have to wait for a windstorm to be free.  I have a choice.  I know where our circuit breaker is.  I think I’m going to use it.  I’ll let you know how it goes.     

Sincerely,

Awkward Guy

One response to “Electricity: Use in Moderation?

  1. MR:

    Perhaps we’re a bit more addicted to modern conveniences here, but still appreciate the sentiment. I might worry a bit more about defrosting the freezer or how to meet my work obligations, but enjoy debating whether or not to pull out the radio or acoustic guitar for a change of pace. Could we get by without it? Not easily. But, it sure makes for a nice quiet change of pace.

    HT

Leave a Reply

